6/9: Week in Eats

Spicy tuna salad, avocado and a gorgeous hunk of sweet potato. Finally bought some Sir Kensington’s mayo (which I see on Instagram all the time) and it was excellent with this. Almost worth buying vs making your own. This meal gets an “A” for effortless and tasty.20140612-211123-76283006.jpg

Stir fry featuring chicken, broccoli, carrots, zucchini & water chestnuts. l love me some crunchy water chestnuts. The sauce was a combination of coconut aminos, arrowroot starch, water and coconut sugar. A little sriracha for some extra oompf never hurt anything.20140611-223254-81174061.jpg

Turkey taco soup. This would be great on those heavy lifting days to fuel up with some good carbs.20140611-223221-81141588.jpg

Pulled pork chili. I suck at slow roasting butts until they’re pull apart tender. Actually, no. It’s my tempermental crockpot’s fault. In any case, I danced with the crockpot again and it turned out quite well! I had quite a few #’s of pork butt on my hand, so cooked on low for 5 hours. Maybe the hot sauce or tomato sauce tenderized it a bit.20140615-174641-64001146.jpg

‘Twas a good week, but probably definitely consumed too many protein bars. They are my kryptonite. Freaking Quest bars. Warm them up in the microwave for 11 seconds (no, not 10 or 12) and they melt in your mouth like a freshly baked cookie. This effect is multiplied when you have time to broil them for a few minutes because they get crispy like a cookie too. Soooo…Whole30 round 2 is likely going to start on July 7th. Mark your calendars for annoying daily blog updates 😛 Very thankful to my life mate for volunteering to do it again with me. It’s a nice reset for your system and I distinctly recall not wanting to eat junk at the end of the first one. That is the biggest draw for me, being a highly skilled sugar slayer since birth. Completing a Whole30 is wonderful, but perhaps what is more important is the choices you make afterwards to maintain results and slowly reintroduce good-for-you food groups back. Until next week!

About Lauren

Welcome to my Healthy Eating blog, where I post stuff I've made that is both nutritious and delicious. I also use this blog to document Whole30's. Take a look around - hope you enjoy!
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

