5/5: Week in Eats

Mash up featuring salami, chicken, sweet potato, broccoli, mushroom and hot sauce. Credit goes to paleomg for the idea.20140508-175207.jpg

Chicken salad with red onion, grapes, cucumber, beets and asparagus. Went to my local Whole Foods to find Love Beets, which I discovered via Instagram. It was convenient to have them ready to go at a moments notice, but obviously cheaper to peel/roast yourself.20140505-134537.jpg

The time has come — I finally made zoodles. Would make this particular combo (pictured here with shrimp) instead with ground beef next time.  Looking forward to getting some good use out of the new spiralizer 😀20140511-190440.jpg

Mother’s Day brunch featuring mushroom tomato casserole with fresh fruit. Not Whole30 approved, but a healthy choice nonetheless.20140511-102105.jpg

I figure the utility of keeping this blog going is to share healthy recipes that are quite easy to prepare and yummy. If I wanted to make it more of a journal, I’d tell you that I had a few moments this week where I ate like absolute crap. Peanut m&m’s and chocolate cookies made an appearance– not things I bought for myself, but encountered in social situations. It was relatively easy to say no to junk on Whole30 since I had committed myself to it so ferociously.  There is something to that theory that you shouldn’t deprive yourself because you end up craving whatever you’re avoiding more. I experienced those cravings throughout the first half of my W30, and then miraculously they went away altogether. Even though we have a few social events and a house guest planned before our trip, I’m going to commit to at least 11 straight days of Whole30 inspired eating. And a greater ratio of cardio to lifting. It took about 8-10 days to lose the usual bloat when I did this before so 11 days should be good. And…I’ve already started planning another round of W30 😎

About Lauren

Welcome to my Healthy Eating blog, where I post stuff I've made that is both nutritious and delicious. I also use this blog to document Whole30's. Take a look around - hope you enjoy!
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 5/5: Week in Eats

  1. Hi Lauren,
    Thanks for sharing this. I understand when those craving start. Happened with me when I did the detox program. Also happens to me every now and then. But is okay to go for an occasional treat. But if you have a strict goal to achieve, its better to stay focused. Thanks for sharing such wonderful post 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

