Protein Bars & Sugar Cravings

So, my first post Whole30 weekend was a good one. I made healthy decisions, but of course had to indulge a little. One of those indulgences was a piece of gluten free chocolate cake from Cafe Intermezzo. I got gluten free to avoid that crappy tired feeling afterward and it totally worked! The funny thing about this cafe is I usually find it pretty “meh”. This time, it was beyond a 10. So much so that sugar was on my mind almost all day today (strange side note: I was not hungry at all during these cravings). Interesting that it takes so long to break that sugar craving and oh, about 2 days to get it back 😬 In any case, I’m stocking up on protein bars which are a little sweet but mostly full of good stuff like protein (duh) and fiber. I thought Quest was the best brand out there, but there’s a new guy in town called Oh Yeah! Cheesy name to be sure, but their vanilla almond bar is NO JOKE. The flavor is spot on, like someone took a simple pastry out of an upscale French bakery and combined it with whey protein. Naturally I ordered a box of 12 when I got home from the gym along with some other goodies like fish oil, spirulina and coconut oil. It’s both inspiring and overwhelming how many health foods and supplements are all a click away these days. Little by little, I will try them all 😈

 

Yes, victory for your tastebuds.

20140407-225809.jpg

About Lauren

Welcome to my Healthy Eating blog, where I post stuff I've made that is both nutritious and delicious. I also use this blog to document Whole30's. Take a look around - hope you enjoy!
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

