Postlude

When I first stumbled onto the Whole30 website, it promised to be an experience that would “change the way you think about food…change your tastes, your habits and your cravings.” It has done exactly that. My portions have been smaller. I’m reading the ingredients list on everything– weeding out the crap with added sugar, soy or $hit I can’t pronounce. The pineapple I ate with some hesitation 10 days into the program might as well have been a sour patch kid the way it hit my sugar receptors. The other day at Target, I felt sorry for the woman in workout clothes with a basket full of Fritos (Did she know what was in that bag of Fritos? Did she care?)

The fact is that all those unpleasant food-related feelings you can get nowadays (bloat, feeling uncomfortably full, lethargic, etc) go away when you cut out the crap. Hey, I still got pissy and wanted to eat that crap for a while. But then your body adjusts and all of a sudden you don’t want it anymore. I’m not expecting this to become the new normal because cheat meals are a wonderful thing. But it’s hard to imagine eating the same way as before and that has made this whole thing worth it.

As for the other things whole30 taught me:

  • There’s nothing mustard or hot sauce won’t fix
  • Water is your friend and helps flush out the bad stuff, including fat
  • There’s always a healthy alternative (I’m looking at you cauliflower rice!)
  • It’s pretty rewarding to know what’s in your food. See:

ingred

  • Smaller portions can go a long way when you incorporate the 3 fundamental meal elements: protein, healthy fats and good carbs 👍 And for feeling full, fiber is your best friend

In 30 days I’ve lost between 5-7 lbs. Not sure of the exact number since I determined today via a new scale that my old one was a little off. Weight loss isn’t the point of Whole30, merely a side effect, but I’m pretty damn happy about it!

About Lauren

Welcome to my Healthy Eating blog, where I post stuff I've made that is both nutritious and delicious. I also use this blog to document Whole30's. Take a look around - hope you enjoy!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Postlude

  1. I would like to take a moment to congratulate my wife whom has been my rock in this whole experience.

    It was not easy. On several occasions I may have detoured into the bakery section of Fresh Market just to stand and invigorate my senses with the smells and beauty that is confectionery sugar and butter cream icing. However, after all the gains I have made the last 30 days, I decided against the Chocolate Chip Muffin we had in the freezer to celebrate, and opted for a Quest bar.

    This ride is far from over and with the new found strength I have gained over food, plan to stick with a clean diet. -No more Pizza Fridays or foot long extra stuffed Philly Cheese steak sandwiches for this guy.

    Like

  2. lougenefaas says:

    Congratulations!!!! A few days late, but still!! Feels great to be done doesn’t it?!

    Like

Leave a Reply

