Day 20

20140324-204240.jpg

Breakfast: sweet potato, egg salad, and guacamole stuffed sweet peppers. This was filling & yummy. Had it not been for whole30, I might never have realized the special harmony between warm sweet potato and cold egg salad 👍 Lunch: ground turkey with green beans and sweet peppers. Desperately needed some kind of tomato sauce or mustard for that turkey, yeesh. Dinner: egg&veggie scramble. Snack: grapes & a larabar.

I’m excited for my yearly physical tomorrow morning. Everything was good last year except for my iron levels, which I’ve been taking supplements for. Recently found out my blood type is A+, which means I may have trouble digesting animal proteins due to low stomach acid. I’d hate to cut out meat, but could def experiment with decreasing it and adding more veggies. That’s basically whole30 for ya anyhow.

So there is a whole30 timeline that has been really helpful for setting expectations depending on where you’re at with the program. Days 16-27 are described using the words “tiger blood” because of all the energy you have. Mmhm well I got that tiger blood injection last night the moment my head hit the pillow. Odd considering I had been pretty lazy all day leading up to that, but hey, it gave me time to reflect on the program and get all warm and fuzzy inside with gratitude.

Even with all the frustrating moments, this journey has been empowering and eye-opening. I can make whatever food choice I want moving forward, knowing the options and what needs to happen to get my body back in tune if/when I slip. It’s all about smart choices and I now know what’s possible. For example, the hubs and I are taking a trip in a few months and I don’t have to eat those airplane snacks. I can make my own snacks. Duh, right? But that’s just it. With proper planning, there are no more excuses for a poor diet. Not when companies are choosing to make organic almond butter instead of processed peanut butter, parsnip chips instead of potato chips, clean sauces & dressings and even junk-free beef jerky. Heck, last night I found clean candy. Bingo! I ain’t givin up chocolate because of Whole30, but maybe now I can at least order a better option.

I guess what I’m trying to say is that knowledge is power and 20 days in I already feel very powerful 💪💪

About Lauren

Welcome to my Healthy Eating blog, where I post stuff I've made that is both nutritious and delicious. I also use this blog to document Whole30's. Take a look around - hope you enjoy!
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

